The Facts

  • Central America consists of seven countries: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama.

  • Population: 41,739,000

  • Area: 507,966 km2

  • Smallest country: El Salvador

  • Languages: Spanish, English, Mayan languages, Garifuna, Kriol, and other languages of Mesoamerica

  • There is no spot in Central America more than 125 miles (200 kilometers) from the ocean.

Staff picks

mexico unplugged.gif

Mexico Unplugged