The Facts

  • South America is made up of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay andVenezuel
  • Population:  422.5 million
  • Area: 17.84 million km²
  • In Brazil alone, around 150 different languages are spoken. However, the most widely spoken languages are Portuguese and Spanish
  • It is estimated that around 40% of the world’s plant and animal species are found in South America. This is despite it covering less than 12% of the earth’s total land surface.

Staff picks

andes and amazon.jpg

Andes & Amazon - La Paz to Rio


southern Cross.png

Southern Cross Eastbound

G Adventures